Ecuador: interesting facts about a distant hot country

Did you know that the Panama hat actually comes from Ecuador? Woven from toquilla straw, historically the hats were transported to the USA via Panama, which was given the manufacturing label. We offer a short trip to the equator of South America!

1. Ecuador is one of three countries that formed after the collapse of Gran Colombia in 1830.

2. The country is named after the equator (Spanish: Ecuador), which runs through the entire territory.

3. The Galapagos Islands, located in the Pacific Ocean, form part of the country’s landscape.

4. Before the establishment of the Incas, Ecuador was inhabited by indigenous Indian peoples.

5. Ecuador has a large number of active volcanoes, the country is also one of the first in terms of the density of volcanoes in the territory.

6. Ecuador is one of two countries in South America that does not have a border with Brazil.

7. Most of the cork material in the world is imported from Ecuador.

8. The country’s capital, Quito, as well as the third largest city, Cuenca, have been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site due to their rich history.

9. The country’s national flower is the rose.

10. The Galapagon Islands is exactly the place where Charles Darwin noted the diversity of living species and began to study evolution.

11. Rosalia Arteaga – the first female president of Ecuador – stayed in office for only 2 days!

12. For many years, Peru and Ecuador had a border dispute between the two countries, which was resolved by an agreement in 1999. As a result, the disputed territory is officially recognized as Peruvian, but administered by Ecuador.

13. Ecuador is the largest supplier of bananas in the world. The total value of exported bananas is estimated at $2 trillion.

Leave a Reply