جوز الهند - وصف الجوز. الفوائد الصحية والأضرار

المحتويات

الوصف

الجوز الغريب ، الذي يتوفر بشكل شائع في صورة جوز الهند المقشر ، ليس فقط لذيذًا ولذيذًا. يحتوي جوز الهند على عدد من الخصائص المفيدة ويمكن أن يحسن صحة الجسم في العديد من الأمراض.

اليوم ، لم تعد جوز الهند غريبة غير مستكشفة. يمكنك شرائها من أي سوبر ماركت. اليوم سوف نولي اهتماما خاصا لهذه الفاكهة: سنخبرك كيف تنمو ، وما بداخلها ، وكيف يمكن استخدامها ، وتقسيمها وتناولها ، وكيف يكون جوز الهند مفيدًا ، ومن يجب أن يحد من استخدامه. سنحاول حتى زراعة شجرة جوز الهند لنجعلك سعيدًا.

جوز الهند هو ثمرة شجرة جوز الهند ، والتي يمكن أن تعيش حتى 100 عام وتنتج أكثر من أربعمائة حبة جوز سنويًا. تزن الثمرة أحيانًا 2.5 كيلوغرام ، وهي مغطاة بقشرة صلبة. يوجد داخل لب جوز الهند الأبيض وماء جوز الهند.

يُترجم اسم الجوز من البرتغالية إلى "قرد". الثمرة الناضجة المقشرة بنية اللون مع ثلاثة خدوش تشبه وجه القرد. يقوم بعض جامعي جوز الهند بتدريب القرود المروضة لتسلق النخيل وإسقاط الفاكهة.

بالمناسبة ، جوز الهند ليس جوزة على الإطلاق ، كما هو شائع. إنها في الواقع فاكهة ذات نواة ، مثل الخوخ أو المشمش أو الكرز الحلو أو الكرز. التصنيف الصارم هو كما يلي: تقسيم كاسيات البذور ، فئة أحادية الفلقة ، ترتيب النخيل ، عائلة النخيل ، جنس جوز الهند وأنواع نخيل جوز الهند.

التكوين ومحتوى السعرات الحرارية

جوز الهند واللب الخام غني بالفيتامينات والمعادن مثل: بوتاسيوم - 14.2٪ ، فوسفور - 14.1٪ ، حديد - 13.5٪ ، منغنيز - 75٪ ، نحاس - 43.5٪ ، سيلينيوم - 18 ، 4٪

  • محتوى السعرات الحرارية 354 كيلو كالوري
  • البروتينات شنومكس ز
  • الدهون 33.49 ز
  • الكربوهيدرات 6.23 ز

حقائق مثيرة للاهتمام حول جوز الهند

يقولون إن جوز الهند موجود على الأرض منذ 3,000 عام على الأقل. ويعتقد أن الديناصورات رأتهم. اليوم يمكن العثور على النبات في المناطق الاستوائية من نصفي الكرة الأرضية: في البرازيل وماليزيا وتايلاند وإندونيسيا والهند وسريلانكا وفيتنام والفلبين. يعتبر جنوب شرق آسيا موطن النبات.

جوز الهند مقاوم للماء وغير قابل للغمر. وبفضل هذا ، فإن منطقتهم المتنامية واسعة جدًا: تحمل التيارات المحيطية الفاكهة تقريبًا في جميع أنحاء العالم.

جوز الهند رفاق عنيد. يمكنهم الانجراف في المحيط لمدة عام كامل ، ويغسلون الشاطئ وينبتون: إما في الأرض أو في الرمال. يعرف التاريخ الحالات التي ظلت فيها ثمار جوز الهند الفردية قابلة للحياة ، ووصلت إلى النرويج.

جوز الهند - وصف الجوز. الفوائد الصحية والأضرار

ينمو جوز الهند في مجموعات كبيرة على راحة اليد. تنضج الثمار في غضون 9-10 أشهر ويمكن أن يصل قطرها إلى 30 سم ، مع شدها بمقدار 2-3 كجم.

من الغريب أنه كلما نمت شجرة جوز الهند بعيدًا عن المحيط ، كانت أصغر. والسبب في ذلك هو كمية الملح الصغيرة المستخرجة من الرمال. تشير التقديرات إلى أن شجرة نخيل واحدة تستخرج 1.34 كجم من الملح من التربة سنويًا. بالقرب من المحيط ، يمكن أن يصل ارتفاع مبنى من عشرة طوابق.

وفقًا للأسطورة ، فإن جوز الهند هو أقرب فاكهة للآلهة. يطلق عليه ماء جميع المحيطات: ترتفع مياه المحيطات إلى أعلى جذع شجرة النخيل ، لتصبح المياه العذبة لجوز الهند.

يستخدم جوز الهند في الطقوس الدينية الهندوسية. ولعل الموقف المقدس من الجنين يرجع إلى تشابهه مع رأس الإنسان. حلت جوز الهند في القبائل محل تضحيات الناس.

أطلق المبشرون على شجرة جوز الهند اسم "الشجرة الكسولة" ، معتقدين أنها تفسد السكان المحليين ، وتجعلهم مستهلكين غير نشطين ، بينما يجب على الجميع العمل وكسب قوتهم.

ولا تحتاج أشجار جوز الهند إلى الري أو المعالجة أو أي شيء آخر. هم فقط ينمون ويؤتي ثمارها. اتضح أن الحياة السماوية: التقطت ثمرة جوز الهند ، وقسمها - ثم شربت وأكلت. حسنًا ، نحن نحب ذلك.

فوائد جوز الهند

يشتهر جوز الهند في المقام الأول بمحتواه العالي من الأحماض الدهنية المختلفة. هو لب جوز الهند الغني بالزيوت ، ويحتوي السائل الموجود داخل الفاكهة على الكثير من مضادات الأكسدة والمعادن. بفضلهم ، فإن ماء جوز الهند يروي العطش جيدًا.

لب جوز الهند مغذي للغاية ، ويجدد ويخفف من إجهاد العضلات. تعد أحماض البانثينيك والفوليك وفيتامينات ب مهمة في عمليات التمثيل الغذائي وعمل الجهاز المناعي والجهاز العصبي.

جوز الهند - وصف الجوز. الفوائد الصحية والأضرار

هناك الكثير من البوتاسيوم والمغنيسيوم واليود في جوز الهند. أنها تدعم القلب والأوعية الدموية ، واليود ضروري للغدد الصماء.

لب جوز الهند غني بالألياف والأحماض الدهنية المفيدة للنباتات المعوية. كمية صغيرة من هذا المنتج تخفف التهاب قرح المعدة والتهاب القولون المعوي.

يعتبر فيتامين هـ "فيتامين جمال" وهو مفيد للبشرة. يغذي زيت جوز الهند البشرة وينعشها ، ويبطئ عملية الشيخوخة ، ويحارب الالتهابات الطفيفة. يقوم حمض اللوريك بقمع الكائنات الحية الدقيقة المسببة للأمراض. أيضا ، زيت جوز الهند يحسن حالة الشعر والأظافر.

ضرر جوز الهند

جوز الهند يحتوي على نسبة عالية من السعرات الحرارية ، لذلك يمنع استخدامه للأشخاص الذين يعانون من السمنة المفرطة. بسبب ارتفاع مؤشر نسبة السكر في الدم في داء السكري ، فمن الأفضل تناول جوز الهند فقط بإذن من الطبيب.

جوز الهند غني بالألياف وملين طبيعي. بالنسبة للأشخاص المعرضين للإسهال ، يمكن أن يتسبب جوز الهند ، وخاصة جوز الهند الطازج ، في حدوث نوبات تهيج. أيضًا ، من الأفضل عدم إعطاء مثل هذه الأطعمة الثقيلة للأطفال دون سن الثانية. يعاني الأشخاص الذين يعانون من حساسية جوز الهند من زيادة خطر الإصابة بالحساسية.

استخدام جوز الهند في الطب

يوصى باستخدام جوز الهند لجميع الأشخاص الذين يمارسون الرياضة أو العمل البدني الشاق. للحفاظ على القوة ، فإن لب الجوز لن يتداخل مع الأمهات الحوامل والمرضعات.

بسبب احتوائه على نسبة عالية من الألياف ، يعزز جوز الهند حركة الأمعاء ويحارب الإمساك. تغلف الزيوت الأغشية المخاطية الملتهبة وتسرع من التئامها ، لذلك ينصح باستخدام زيت جوز الهند لقرحة المعدة والتهاب المعدة والتهاب القولون.

جوز الهند - وصف الجوز. الفوائد الصحية والأضرار

يستخدم زيت جوز الهند بنشاط في التدليك والتجميل. أحماض اللوريك والأوليك والكابريليك جيدة للبشرة. تحافظ على توازن الماء وتنشط عمليات التمثيل الغذائي ولها خصائص علاجية. الجلد مشبع بالعناصر الغذائية ويصبح أكثر رطوبة.

لكن البشرة الدهنية معرضة بشكل كبير لخطر انسداد المسام ، لذا فإن الزيت مناسب أكثر للبشرة الجافة. يمكن أيضًا استخدام زيت جوز الهند للشعر والأظافر. الصابون والكريمات والبلسم مصنوعة على أساسها.

فيتامين (هـ) الموجود في اللب يقوي جدران الأوعية الدموية ويقلل من خطر الإصابة بتصلب الشرايين ويحسن بشكل عام حالة القلب والأوعية الدموية. لا يمكنك تناول أكثر من 100-200 جرام من جوز الهند الطازج يوميًا ، وتأكد من مراقبة محتوى السعرات الحرارية.

استخدام جوز الهند في الطب

يوصى باستخدام جوز الهند لجميع الأشخاص الذين يمارسون الرياضة أو العمل البدني الشاق. للحفاظ على القوة ، فإن لب الجوز لن يتداخل مع الأمهات الحوامل والمرضعات.

بسبب احتوائه على نسبة عالية من الألياف ، يعزز جوز الهند حركة الأمعاء ويحارب الإمساك. تغلف الزيوت الأغشية المخاطية الملتهبة وتسرع من التئامها ، لذلك ينصح باستخدام زيت جوز الهند لقرحة المعدة والتهاب المعدة والتهاب القولون.

يستخدم زيت جوز الهند بنشاط في التدليك والتجميل. أحماض اللوريك والأوليك والكابريليك جيدة للبشرة. تحافظ على توازن الماء وتنشط عمليات التمثيل الغذائي ولها خصائص علاجية. الجلد مشبع بالعناصر الغذائية ويصبح أكثر رطوبة.

لكن البشرة الدهنية معرضة بشكل كبير لخطر انسداد المسام ، لذا فإن الزيت مناسب أكثر للبشرة الجافة. يمكن أيضًا استخدام زيت جوز الهند للشعر والأظافر. الصابون والكريمات والبلسم مصنوعة على أساسها.

جوز الهند - وصف الجوز. الفوائد الصحية والأضرار

فيتامين (هـ) الموجود في اللب يقوي جدران الأوعية الدموية ويقلل من خطر الإصابة بتصلب الشرايين ويحسن بشكل عام حالة القلب والأوعية الدموية. لا يمكنك تناول أكثر من 100-200 جرام من جوز الهند الطازج يوميًا ، وتأكد من مراقبة محتوى السعرات الحرارية.

طبخ جوز الهند

غالبًا ما يستخدم لب جوز الهند في الطهي ؛ في شكل جاف ، يمكن العثور عليها في أقسام الحلويات على شكل نشارة. يعتبر ماء جوز الهند والحليب أكثر شيوعًا في المطبخ الآسيوي - حيث يتم إضافتهما إلى أطباق الحساء والأسماك والحبوب.

يعتمد طعم اللب نفسه وماء جوز الهند على نضج الجوز. أصغرهم ليس لديهم لب على هذا النحو ، الفاكهة ممتلئة بالكامل تقريبًا بالماء الحلو والحامض. تدريجيا ، يثخن السائل ويصبح مثل الهلام. يوجد القليل من الماء في المكسرات الناضجة ؛ يتصلب معظمه عند الجدران على شكل لب جوز الهند الأبيض. يستخدم بشكله النقي في السلطات والحلويات وحتى الشوربات.

يتم الحصول على زيت جوز الهند من اللب المضغوط. يمكن أن تؤكل مثل الزبدة العادية ولها نكهة جوز الهند الحلوة. تصنع الحشوات الزيتية في منتجات الحلويات والكريمات. زيت جوز الهند الطبيعي يثخن بالفعل عند +24 درجة. لجعلها تذوب ، يكفي الاحتفاظ بها لفترة قصيرة في حمام مائي أو تسخينها في مقلاة.

عندما ينقع اللب المبشور في الماء ، يتحول السائل إلى حليب جوز الهند. غالبًا ما يتم إضافته إلى الحساء مثل توم يام الشهير.

حليب جوز الهند

يمكنك صنع حليب جوز الهند الطبيعي بنفسك.

إنه في حالة سكر أنيق ويضاف إلى العديد من الحلويات. لا غنى عنه في المطبخ الآسيوي. بعد عصر اللب ، تبقى رقائق جوز الهند ، والتي يمكن استخدامها في الوصفة التالية.

جوز الهند - وصف الجوز. الفوائد الصحية والأضرار

يستخدم جوز الهند الطازج في صنع الحليب ، ولكن يمكن أيضًا صنع المشروب من النشارة الجافة. على الرغم من أنه سيكون أقل كثافة ولذيذ.

  • لب جوز الهند - زجاج
  • Water

قم بإزالة القشرة الخارجية الداكنة من اللب ، ثم ابشرها أو قطعتها بالخلط. انقله إلى وعاء واسكب الماء المغلي فوقه بحيث يغطي اللحم قليلًا. اتركيه لمدة نصف ساعة ، ثم ضعيه على منديل شاش واعصري الحليب في وعاء. تحتاج إلى عصر جاف تقريبًا.

يُخزن الحليب في الثلاجة لمدة لا تزيد عن يوم واحد ، حيث يتكاثف تدريجياً وينقسم إلى طبقتين. يرتفع "كريم جوز الهند" إلى الأعلى - الجزء الدهني من الحليب. يمكن استخدامها بمفردها أو خلطها مع الحليب.

يحل حليب جوز الهند محل حليب البقر المعتاد تمامًا في جميع الوصفات: مع القهوة ، وعجن العجين ، وطهي اللحم. إنه يعطي جميع الأطباق نكهة جوزية مثيرة للاهتمام.

يمكن تجفيف القصاصات الناتجة في الفرن عند 80 درجة مع التحريك من حين لآخر. نقل إلى الجرار محكمة الغلق بعد التبريد.

كيفية اختيار وتخزين جوز الهند

يُباع جوز الهند في حالتين: أخضر ، وبني مفرط النضج. الطازجة ، "مباشرة من الشجرة" - جوز الهند الأخضر ، يتم تسليمها في أسرع وقت ممكن ويتم حصادها وهي لا تزال صغيرة. لكن تنظيفها أكثر صعوبة ، وتكلفتها أعلى بكثير.

يمكنك اختيار جوز الهند البني الجيد - لقد تم تقشيره بالفعل ويمكنك رؤية الألياف عليه. انتبه إلى المظهر - عند أدنى ضرر ، يتدهور الجوز بسرعة ، لذلك يجب أن يكون جوز الهند خاليًا من الشقوق والثقوب.

جوز الهند - وصف الجوز. الفوائد الصحية والأضرار

رج الجوز - يمكنك سماع تناثر السائل في الفاكهة الناضجة. يجب أن يكون وزن جوز الهند ثقيلًا. يجب أن تكون القشرة مشدودة ، وليست مضغوطة وتتدلى من الضغط بإصبع. أخف ، كان ذلك أفضل.

بعد شراء جوز الهند ، من الأفضل عدم تخزينه لفترة طويلة ، ولكن فتحه وتناوله. للقيام بذلك ، افتح الجوز بثلاث "عيون" نحوك. أدخل سكينًا رفيعًا أو مفك براغي في المنتصف لعمل ثقب. اقلب الجوز وصفي ماء جوز الهند.

بعد ذلك ، تحتاج إلى إزالة الغلاف. يمكنك ببساطة تحطيمها بمطرقة أو رمي الجوز بقوة على الأرض. ولكن هناك طريقة أكثر دقة: بسكين أو مطرقة ثقيلة ، اضغط على كامل سطح جوز الهند ، وأمسكه في يدك. بشكل دوري يحتاج إلى أن يديره الجانب الآخر.

تدريجيًا ، ستبدأ القشرة بالتأخر في القطع. يجب إزالتها ، ويجب تقطيع الفاكهة الناتجة عن تقشير بسكين. سيكون الجزء الداخلي من اللحم الأبيض ، ويمكن إزالة القشرة الخارجية الناعمة إذا رغبت في ذلك.

بمجرد فتحه ، يتم تخزين جوز الهند في وعاء مغلق في الثلاجة لبضعة أيام. لتخزين أطول ، صر اللب وجففه. يتم تخزينها في درجة حرارة الغرفة في جرة ذات غطاء محكم ، وإلا فسوف تمتص كل الروائح الغريبة.

إذا قمت بشراء رقائق جوز الهند الجاهزة ، انتبه إلى التركيبة: يجب ألا يحتوي المنتج على أي مكونات أخرى غير جوز الهند.

كيف تنمو شجرة جوز الهند

جوز الهند - وصف الجوز. الفوائد الصحية والأضرار

سكان ساحل المحيط الهادئ يزرعون شجرة جوز الهند عند ولادة طفل

بادئ ذي بدء ، أنت بحاجة إلى جوز الهند المناسب للإنبات: متوسط ​​الحجم ، ويفضل أن يكون مستطيلًا ، في الجلد ، غير معالج ، قرقرة عند الاهتزاز ، مما يشير إلى وجود عصير يحتوي على العناصر الغذائية للنبات الصغير.

يجب أن يكون جوز الهند ناضجًا. يرجى ملاحظة أن معظم ثمار جوز الهند الموجودة في متاجرنا - البني منها - تمت إزالتها قبل النضوج. لذلك ، فإن فرص وجود نبات حي ليست كبيرة.

لذلك ، هناك مرشح لشجرة نخيل جميلة. يجب وضعها في الماء لعدة أيام ، مما سيخلق ظروفًا طبيعية للإنبات. جهز وعاء زرع بقطر ضعف حجم جوز الهند. املأها بالتربة السائبة المغذية بالرمل. إذا كان هناك دبال أو خث ، يمكنك إضافة.

نخيل جوز الهند لا يطالب بتكوين التربة. بللها جيدًا. انه ضروري. ضع جوز الهند جانبًا في الوعاء بحيث تنظر العينان إلى الجانب. سيخرج منها برعم. غالبًا ما يظهر البرعم بعد "نقع" جوز الهند. هذا يعني أنه تم اختيار الفاكهة بشكل صحيح.

أكل نصف جوز الهند فقط. الثاني - مع البرعم المستقبلي يجب أن يكون على نفس المستوى مع الأرض.

لا تتوقع نتائج سريعة. تستغرق العملية ما يصل إلى ستة أشهر. أسرع في المناخات الحارة والرطبة. درجة الحرارة المثلى هي 30 درجة مئوية ، ومن الجيد أن يكون الصيف.

أثناء نموه ، يتم زرع النبات في وعاء أكبر بحيث يكون هناك مجال لتطوير نظام الجذر. تحتاج شجرة النخيل إلى الكثير من الضوء والدفء والرطوبة.

اترك تعليق

Coconut – description of the nut. Health benefits and Harms

Contents

 

Description

The exotic nut, which is commonly available as flaked coconut, is not only flavorful and tasty. Coconut has a number of beneficial properties and can improve the health of the body in many diseases.

Today, coconuts are no longer an unexplored exotic. You can buy them at any supermarket. Today we will pay special attention to this fruit: we will tell you how it grows, what is inside it, how it can be used, split and eaten, how is coconut useful and who should limit its use. We will even try to grow a coconut tree to make you happy.

 

Coconut is the fruit of the coconut tree, which can live up to 100 years and produce over four hundred nuts per year. The fruit sometimes weighs 2.5 kilograms, and is covered with a hard shell. Inside is white copra pulp and coconut water.

The name of the nut is translated from Portuguese as “monkey”. The ripe peeled fruit is brown in color with three dents, which resembles the face of a monkey. Some coconut gatherers train tame monkeys to climb palms and drop the fruit down.

By the way, coconut is not a nut at all, as is commonly believed. It is actually a stone fruit, like peach, apricot, sweet cherry or cherry. The strict classification is as follows: angiosperm division, monocotyledonous class, palm order, palm family, coconut genus and coconut palm species.

Composition and calorie content

Coconut, pulp, raw is rich in vitamins and minerals such as: potassium – 14.2%, phosphorus – 14.1%, iron – 13.5%, manganese – 75%, copper – 43.5%, selenium – 18, 4 %

  • Caloric content 354 kcal
  • Proteins 3.33 g
  • Fat 33.49 g
  • Carbohydrates 6.23 g

Interesting facts about coconuts

They say coconuts have existed on Earth for at least 3,000 years. It is believed that they were seen by dinosaurs. Today the plant can be found in the tropics of both hemispheres: in Brazil, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, India, Sri Lanka, Vietnam, the Philippines. Southeast Asia is considered the homeland of the plant.

 

Coconuts are waterproof and unsinkable. Thanks to this, their growing area is so extensive: ocean currents carry fruits almost all over the world.

Coconuts are tenacious comrades. They can drift in the ocean for a whole year, wash ashore and germinate: either in the ground or in the sand. History knows of cases when individual coconuts remained viable, reaching Norway.

Coconut – description of the nut. Health benefits and Harms

Coconuts grow in large groups on the palm. Fruits ripen within 9-10 months and can reach 30 centimeters in diameter, while tightening by 2-3 kg.

 

Curiously, the farther from the ocean the coconut tree grows, the smaller it is. The reason for this is the small amount of salt extracted from the sand. It is estimated that one palm tree extracts 1.34 kg of salt from the soil per year. Near the ocean, it can reach the height of a ten-story building.

According to legend, the coconut is the closest fruit to the gods. It is called the water of all oceans: the ocean water rises up the trunk of the palm tree, becoming the sweet water of the coconut.

Coconut is used in Hindu religious rites. Perhaps the sacred attitude towards the fetus is due to its similarity to the human head. Coconuts in the tribes replaced the sacrifices of people.

 

Missionaries called the coconut tree the “lazy tree”, believing that it corrupts the local population, making them an inactive consumer, while everyone must work and earn their own food.

And coconut trees do not need to be watered, processed or anything else. They just grow and bear fruit. It turns out a heavenly life: picked up a coconut, split it – got drunk and ate. Well, we love that.

The benefits of coconut

Coconut is known primarily for its high content of various fatty acids. It is the pulp of coconut that is rich in oils, and the liquid inside the fruit contains a lot of antioxidants and minerals. It is thanks to them that coconut water quenches thirst so well.

 

Coconut pulp is highly nutritious, rejuvenates and relieves muscle fatigue. Panthenic and folic acids and B vitamins are important in metabolic processes and for the functioning of the immune and nervous system.

Coconut – description of the nut. Health benefits and Harms

There is a lot of potassium, magnesium and iodine in coconut. They support the heart and blood vessels, and iodine is essential for the endocrine glands.

Coconut pulp is high in fiber and fatty acids, which are beneficial for the intestinal flora. A small amount of this product relieves inflammation in stomach ulcers and intestinal colitis.

 

Vitamin E is considered a “beauty vitamin” and is good for the skin. Coconut oil nourishes and refreshes the skin, slows down the aging process, and fights minor inflammation. Lauric acid suppresses pathogenic microorganisms. Also, coconut oil improves the condition of hair and nails.

Coconut harm

Coconut is very high in calories, therefore it is contraindicated in obese people. Because of the high glycemic index in diabetes mellitus, it is better to eat coconut only with the permission of a doctor.

Coconut is high in fiber and is a natural laxative. For people prone to diarrhea, coconut, especially fresh coconut, can cause flare-ups. Also, it is better not to give such heavy food to children under 2 years of age. Coconut allergy sufferers have an increased risk of allergic reactions.

The use of coconut in medicine

Coconut is recommended for all people who play sports or hard physical work. To maintain strength, the pulp of the nut will not interfere with pregnant and lactating mothers.

Due to its high fiber content, coconut enhances intestinal motility and fights constipation. The oils envelop the inflamed mucous membranes and accelerate their healing, so coconut oil is recommended for stomach ulcers, gastritis, colitis.

Coconut – description of the nut. Health benefits and Harms

Coconut oil is actively used in massage and cosmetology. Lauric, oleic and caprylic acids are good for the skin. They maintain water balance, activate metabolic processes and have healing properties. The skin is saturated with nutrients and becomes more hydrated.

But oily skin has a high risk of clogged pores, so the oil is more suitable for dry skin. Coconut oil can also be used for hair, nails. Soaps, creams and balms are made on its basis.

Vitamin E in the pulp strengthens the walls of blood vessels, reduces the risk of atherosclerosis and generally improves the condition of the heart and blood vessels. You can eat no more than 100-200 grams of fresh coconut per day, and be sure to monitor the calorie content.

The use of coconut in medicine

Coconut is recommended for all people who play sports or hard physical work. To maintain strength, the pulp of the nut will not interfere with pregnant and lactating mothers.

Due to its high fiber content, coconut enhances intestinal motility and fights constipation. The oils envelop the inflamed mucous membranes and accelerate their healing, so coconut oil is recommended for stomach ulcers, gastritis, colitis.

Coconut oil is actively used in massage and cosmetology. Lauric, oleic and caprylic acids are good for the skin. They maintain water balance, activate metabolic processes and have healing properties. The skin is saturated with nutrients and becomes more hydrated.

But oily skin has a high risk of clogged pores, so the oil is more suitable for dry skin. Coconut oil can also be used for hair, nails. Soaps, creams and balms are made on its basis.

Coconut – description of the nut. Health benefits and Harms

Vitamin E in the pulp strengthens the walls of blood vessels, reduces the risk of atherosclerosis and generally improves the condition of the heart and blood vessels. You can eat no more than 100-200 grams of fresh coconut per day, and be sure to monitor the calorie content.

Coconut cooking

In cooking, coconut pulp is most often used; in dried form, it can be found in confectionery departments in the form of shavings. Coconut water and milk are even more popular in Asian cuisine – they are added to soups, fish and cereal dishes.

The taste of the pulp itself and the coconut water depends on the ripeness of the nut. The youngest have no pulp as such, the fruit is almost entirely filled with sweet and sour water. Gradually, the liquid thickens and becomes jelly-like. There is little water in mature nuts; most of it hardens at the walls in the form of white coconut pulp. It is used in its pure form in salads, desserts and even soups.

Coconut oil is obtained from the pressed pulp. It can be eaten like regular butter and has a sweet coconut flavor. Oil-based fillings are made in confectionery foods, creams. Natural coconut oil thickens already at +24 degrees. To make it melt, it is enough to hold it for a short time in a water bath or heat it up in a pan.

When the grated pulp is soaked in water, the liquid becomes coconut milk. It is often added to soups such as the famous tom yam.

Coconut milk

You can make natural coconut milk yourself.

It is drunk neat and added to many desserts. It is indispensable in Asian cuisine. After squeezing the pulp, the coconut flakes remain, which can be used in the next recipe.

Coconut – description of the nut. Health benefits and Harms

Fresh coconut is used to make milk, but the drink can also be made from dry shavings. Although it will be much less intense and tasty.

  • Coconut pulp – glass
  • Water

Remove the outer dark shell from the pulp, then grate or chop with a combine. Transfer to a bowl and pour boiling water over so that it only slightly covers the flesh. Leave for half an hour, then put it on a gauze napkin and squeeze the milk over a bowl. You need to squeeze out almost dry.

Milk is stored in the refrigerator for no more than a day, where it gradually thickens and is divided into two layers. The “coconut cream” rises upward – the fatty part of the milk. They can be used alone or mixed with milk.

Coconut milk completely replaces the usual cow milk in all recipes: with coffee, when kneading dough, stewing meat. It gives all dishes an interesting nutty flavor.

The resulting shavings can be dried in the oven at 80 degrees, stirring occasionally. Transfer to sealed jars after cooling.

How to choose and store coconut

Coconuts are sold in two states: green, and overripe brown. The freshest, “straight from the tree” – green coconuts, they are delivered as quickly as possible and harvested while still young. But cleaning them is more difficult, and they cost significantly more.

You can choose a good brown coconut – it is already peeled and you can see the fibers on it. Pay attention to the appearance – at the slightest damage, the nut quickly deteriorates, so the coconut should be free of cracks and punctures.

Coconut – description of the nut. Health benefits and Harms

Shake the nut – you can hear the liquid splashing in the ripe fruit. The coconut should be heavy by weight. The shell should be tight, not squeezed and sag from pressing with a finger. The lighter it is, the better.

After buying a coconut, it is better not to store it for a long time, but to open it and eat it. To do this, unfold the nut with three “eyes” towards you. Insert a thin knife or screwdriver into the center, making a hole. Turn the nut over and drain the coconut water.

Next, you need to remove the shell. You can simply smash it with a hammer or forcefully throw the nut onto the floor. But there is a more accurate way: with a heavy knife or hammer, tap on the entire surface of the coconut, holding it suspended in your hand. Periodically it needs to be turned by the other side.

Gradually, the shell will begin to lag behind in pieces. They need to be removed, and the resulting peeled fruit should be cut with a knife. The inside will be white flesh, and the outer brown soft rind can be removed if desired.

Once opened, the coconut is stored in a sealed container in the refrigerator for a couple of days. For longer storage, grate and dry the pulp. It is stored at room temperature in a jar with a tight lid, otherwise it will absorb all foreign odors.

If you buy ready-made coconut flakes, pay attention to the composition: the product should not contain any ingredients other than coconut.

How to grow a coconut tree

Coconut – description of the nut. Health benefits and Harms

Pacific Coast residents plant a coconut tree when a child is born

First of all, you need the right coconut for germination: medium size, preferably oblong, in the skin, untreated, gurgling when shaken, which indicates a supply of juice containing nutrients for the young plant.

The coconut must be ripe. Please note that most of the coconuts in our stores – brown ones – were removed prior to ripening. Therefore, the chances of a living plant are not great.

So, there is a candidate for a beautiful palm tree. It needs to be placed in water for several days, which will create natural conditions for germination. Prepare a planting container with a diameter of twice the size of the coconut. Fill it with nutritious loose soil with sand. If there is humus or peat, you can add.

The coconut palm is not demanding on the composition of the soil. Moisten it well. It is necessary. Place the coconut sideways in the container, so that the eyes are looking to the side. A sprout will come out of them. Very often the sprout appears after “soaking” the coconut. This means that the fruit is chosen correctly.

Eat only half of the coconut. The second – with the future sprout should be located at the same level with the ground.

Don’t expect quick results. The process takes up to six months. Faster in hot and humid climates. The optimum temperature is 30 ° C. It’s good that it’s summer.

As it grows, the plant is transplanted into a larger pot so that there is room for the development of the root system. A palm tree needs a lot of light, warmth and moisture.

Leave a Reply