Learning to read composition

Vegans who stick to their lifestyle for a long time can read labels incredibly quickly, as if they were born with this superpower. To help you keep up with the experts, here are some tips to help you put new food in your grocery cart with ease!

Do I need to look for the label “vegan”?

It has never been easier to be a vegan than now! You can always find everything you need on the Internet, check the composition and quality of the product you like and read customer reviews. However, “Vegan” is just beginning to appear on labels. Therefore, to decide if a product is right for you, you need to read the composition.

Vegetarian label

Legally, a company must clearly state which allergens a product contains. They are usually listed in bold on the ingredient list or listed separately below it. If you see the composition without any ingredient that is not suitable for you (eggs, milk, casein, whey), then the product is vegan and you can take it.

Learning to read composition

No matter how small the composition is printed, it is still worth looking at it. If you see one of the ingredients listed below, then the product is not vegan.

– the red pigment obtained by grinding the cochineal beetle is used as a food

– milk (protein)

– milk (sugar)

– milk. Whey powder is used in many products, especially chips, bread, pastries.

– the substance is obtained from the skin, bones and connective tissues of animals: cows, chickens, pigs and fish. Used in cosmetics.

– a substance from the cervical ligaments and aorta of cattle, similar to collagen.

– a substance from the skin, bones and connective tissues of animals: cows, chickens, pigs and fish.

– obtained by boiling the skin, tendons, ligaments and bones. Used in jellies, gummies, brownies, cakes and tablets as a coating.

– an industrial alternative to gelatin.

– animal fat. Usually white pork.

– obtained from the bodies of insects Kerria lacca.

– bee food made by the bees themselves

– made from honeycombs of bees.

– used by bees in the construction of hives.

– secretion of the throat glands of bees.

– Made from fish oil. Used in creams, lotions and other cosmetics.

– made from the sebaceous glands of sheep, extracted from wool. Used in many skin care products and other cosmetics.

– obtained from eggs (usually).

– made from dried fish swim bladder. Used to clarify wine and beer.

– used in creams and lotions, vitamins and supplements.

– made from the stomach of a pig. Clotting agent, used in vitamins.

“may contain”

In the UK, the manufacturer must declare whether the product is made in a plant where allergens are present. You might be surprised when you see a vegan label and then it says “may contain milk” (for example). This does not mean at all that the product is not vegan, but you are a consumer warned. For more information visit the website.

Check out other posts

“Lactose-free” does not mean a product is vegan. Be sure to check out the ingredients.

Glycerin, lactic acid, mono- and diglycerides, and stearic acid can be made from livestock, but are sometimes vegan. If they are made from plants, this must be indicated on the label.

Sometimes white sugar is refined using animal bones. And brown sugar is not always cane sugar, it is usually tinted with molasses. It is better to look for detailed information about the method of sugar production on the Internet.

Contacting the manufacturer

In some cases, even if you have a vegan label, you still cannot be sure that a particular product is really vegan. In case you notice a suspicious ingredient in the composition or are just in doubt, you can contact the manufacturer directly.

Tip: be specific. If you just ask if it’s a vegan product, the reps won’t waste time and will just answer yes or no.

Good question: “I noticed that your product doesn’t say it’s vegan, but it does list herbal ingredients in the ingredients. Could you confirm what makes it unsuitable for a vegan diet? Maybe animal products are used in the production? You will most likely get a detailed answer to such a question.

Contact with producers is also useful, as it highlights the need for special labeling and at the same time increases the demand for vegan products.

Leave a Reply