Are mints suitable for vegans?

Ingredients to Avoid

Gelatin – is produced from the skin, tendons, cartilage, ligaments and / or bones of animals. Its alternatives are agar-agar and pectin. 

Shellac, E 904, “confectionery glaze” – made from the resinous secretion of lac insects Laccifer lacca. It is used to make food glazes and wax coatings on fresh produce. By the way, it is this ingredient that makes gel nail polish resistant. 

carmine, E 120 – red pigment from crushed cochineal females. It is used not only in the food industry, but also in many others. For example, dyes lipstick red.

Beeswax – wax secreted by bees to make honeycombs. It is used in the production of candles, thickening creams and solid perfumes, making furniture polishes, and coating some types of cheeses from drying out. 

These ingredients don’t seem to be refreshing at all. 

Is Tic Tac vegan?

Mint Tic Tac is currently vegan according to 

Be sure to check the ingredients. The same Tic Tac, but already cherry or orange, may contain carmine, carminic acid and shellac, which appear on the lists of Tic Tac ingredients in the UK and elsewhere. 

Are Altoids Vegan?

Unfortunately, the original Altoids (cinnamon, mint, and wintergreen) contain gelatin.

Mentos vegan?

The only vegan flavor of Mentos gummies is green apple. The other seven flavors contain beeswax.

Unfortunately, there is no complete and reliable list of vegan and non-vegan mints, as their formulations change frequently. Therefore, all we can do is pay attention to the ingredients and labels on the packaging (some lollipops are labeled “vegan”). 

Leave a Reply