هل يساعد الوشم في شفاء الصدمات النفسية؟

المحتويات

كيف يساعد الوشم في علاج الصدمات؟ ماذا تعني الفاصلة المنقوطة على معصم الشخص؟ غالبًا ما يكون الوشم أكثر من مجرد شكل من أشكال التعبير عن الذات. نتحدث عن اتجاهات العلاج بالفن المرتبطة بالرسومات على الجسم.

يمكن أن يحمل الوشم معنى مختلفًا تمامًا. منذ العصور القديمة ، كانوا ملحقًا ونوعًا من "الشفرة" لمجموعات اجتماعية مختلفة ، من فناني السيرك إلى راكبي الدراجات وموسيقيي موسيقى الروك ، وبالنسبة للبعض ، هذه طريقة أخرى للتعبير عن الذات. ولكن هناك من يعتبر الرسم على الجسد نوعًا من العلاج الذي يساعد على الشفاء والتعافي من الماضي المؤلم.

"شخص يحصل على وشم ليروي قصة. الرقبة ، والإصبع ، والكاحل ، والوجه ... نحن البشر نروي قصصنا هنا منذ قرون ، "كتب روبرت باركمان ، الأستاذ الفخري في كلية سبرينغفيلد.

"إجراء الشفاء"

يعد الوشم الدائم على الجلد فنًا قديمًا ، وقد عاش أقدم شخص معروف بالوشم منذ أكثر من 5000 عام. بسبب حقيقة أنه مات في جبال الألب وانتهى به المطاف في الجليد ، فإن مومياءه محفوظة جيدًا - بما في ذلك الخطوط الموشومة المطبقة على الجلد.

من الصعب تخمين معناها ، ولكن وفقًا لإصدار واحد ، كان شيئًا مثل الوخز بالإبر - وبهذه الطريقة ، تمت معالجة Ice Man Yeqi من تدهور المفاصل والعمود الفقري. حتى الآن ، لا يزال للوشم تأثير علاجي ، ربما يساعد في شفاء الروح.

الأوشام شخصية للغاية.

يقوم معظم الناس بحشوهم ليخبروا قصتهم عن الألم أو الانتصار أو العقبات التي كان عليهم مواجهتها والتغلب عليها في حياتهم. تتحدث الأوشام على شكل فاصلة منقوطة ونجوم وريش عن الصعوبات الماضية وآمال المستقبل وحرية الاختيار.

"النجم المصغر المحبوب من قبل معظم الناس ، يدل على الحقيقة والروحانية والأمل ، وفي بعض الحالات يتحدث عن الإيمان. كما نعلم جميعًا ، تشع النجوم الضوء في الفضاء ، في ظلام لا نهاية له. يبدو أنهم يقودون مالكهم في مسارات غير معروفة. قال باركمان: "لديهم كل ما يحتاجه الناس ، وبالتالي فقد أصبحوا موضوعًا مفضلاً للوشم".

اختيار الحياة

تحمل بعض الأوشام أكثر بكثير مما تراه العين. يمكن للرمز المصغر - الفاصلة المنقوطة - أن يتحدث عن موقف خطير في حياة الشخص وصعوبة الاختيار الذي يواجهه. يتذكر باركمان قائلاً: "تشير علامات الترقيم هذه إلى توقف مؤقت ، عادةً بين جملتين رئيسيتين". - يعتبر هذا التوقف أكثر أهمية من الوقف المحدد بفاصلة. أي أنه كان بإمكان المؤلف أن يقرر إنهاء الجملة ، لكنه اختار أن يأخذ قسطًا من الراحة ثم يكتب تكملة. بالقياس ، تشير الفاصلة المنقوطة كرمز للوشم إلى توقف مؤقت في حياة شخص أراد الانتحار.

بدلاً من الانتحار ، اختار الناس الحياة - ويتحدث مثل هذا الوشم عن اختيارهم ، أنه من الممكن دائمًا بدء فصل جديد.

يمكنك دائمًا الإيمان بالتغيير - حتى عندما يبدو أنه لا يوجد مكان يلجأ إليه. لذلك أصبح الوشم الصغير رمزًا عالميًا لحقيقة أن الشخص يمكن أن يمنح نفسه وقفة في الحياة ، ولكن لا يضع حدًا لها. كانت هذه الفكرة هي التي شكلت الأساس لأحد مشاريع الإنترنت الدولية.

مع الاقتناع بأن الانتحار غير مقبول بشكل أساسي ، يساهم مشروع Semicolon ، الذي تم إنشاؤه في عام 2013 ، في تقليل عدد حالات الانتحار في العالم. يجمع المشروع بين الناس في المجتمع الدولي ويوفر لهم الوصول إلى المعلومات الهامة والموارد المفيدة.

يعتقد المنظمون أن الانتحار يمكن منعه وأن كل شخص على هذا الكوكب مسئول بشكل جماعي عن منعه. تهدف الحركة إلى جمع الناس معًا - لإلهام بعضنا البعض بالطاقة والإيمان بأنه يمكننا جميعًا التغلب على العقبات التي نواجهها ، مهما كانت كبيرة أو صغيرة. أحيانًا يتم تطبيق الوشم المنقسم أيضًا في ذكرى أحبائهم الذين انتحروا.

 

"المرساة" - تذكير بالأهم

في حالات أخرى ، يمكن أن تعني حقيقة الحصول على وشم فصلًا جديدًا في تاريخ الشخص الشخصي. على سبيل المثال ، توصي إحدى عيادات إعادة التأهيل الباهظة الثمن في شيانغ ماي (تايلاند) أولئك الذين أكملوا دورة الشفاء التام بالحصول على وشم - كرمز وتذكير دائم للتخلص من الإدمان الخطير. تساعد مثل هذه "المرساة" الشخص على تحقيق الانتصار على المرض. كونك دائمًا على الجسد ، فإنه يذكرنا بمدى أهمية التوقف وحبس نفسك في لحظة خطيرة.

 

مشروع القمر الجديد

مشروع آخر للعلاج بالفن يستخدم الوشم يساعد الأشخاص حرفياً على كتابة صفحة جديدة على الجسم بعد إصابات قديمة. يتحدث اختصاصي الصدمات الشهير روبرت مولر ، أستاذ علم النفس في جامعة يورك ، عن تلميذه فيكتوريا ، التي أساءت نفسها في شبابها.

تعترف "يبدو أنني عانيت من مشاكل في التوازن العقلي طوال حياتي". "حتى عندما كنت طفلاً ، غالبًا ما كنت أشعر بالحزن والاختباء من الناس. أتذكر أن هذا الشوق وكراهية الذات قد سادت علي لدرجة أنه بدا أنه من الضروري إطلاق سراحهما بطريقة ما.

منذ سن الثانية عشرة ، بدأت فيكتوريا تؤذي نفسها. يكتب مولر أن إيذاء النفس يمكن أن يتخذ أشكالًا عديدة ، مثل الجروح والحروق والخدوش أو أي شيء آخر. هناك عدد غير قليل من هؤلاء الناس. والأغلبية ، الذين يكبرون ويغيرون حياتهم ومواقفهم تجاه أجسادهم ، يرغبون في سد الندوب باعتبارها آثارًا لماضٍ غير سار.

 

عمل الفنان نيكولاي بانديليدس كفنان وشم لمدة ثلاث سنوات. في مقابلة مع The Trauma and Mental Health Report ، شاركنا تجربته. يلجأ إليه الأشخاص الذين يعانون من مشاكل شخصية بشكل متزايد للحصول على المساعدة ، وأدرك نيكولاي أن الوقت قد حان للقيام بشيء ما من أجلهم: "جاءني الكثير من العملاء للحصول على وشم لإخفاء الندوب. أدركت أن هناك حاجة لذلك ، وأنه يجب أن يكون هناك مكان آمن للناس ليشعروا بالراحة ويكونوا قادرين على التحدث عما حدث لهم إذا رغبوا في ذلك ".

في مايو 2018 ظهر Project New Moon - خدمة وشم غير هادفة للربح للأشخاص الذين يعانون من ندوب من إيذاء النفس. يتلقى نيكولاي ردود فعل إيجابية من الناس من جميع أنحاء العالم ، مما يشير إلى الطلب على مثل هذا المشروع. في البداية ، دفع الفنان النفقات من جيبه الخاص ، ولكن الآن ، عندما يرغب المزيد والمزيد من الناس في القدوم والحصول على المساعدة ، يبحث المشروع عن التمويل من خلال منصة تمويل جماعي.

لسوء الحظ ، فإن موضوع إيذاء النفس يحمل وصمة عار للكثيرين. على وجه الخصوص ، ينظر الناس إلى هذه الندبات بإدانة ويعاملون من يرتديها بشكل سيء. لدى نيكولاي عملاء لهم تاريخ مشابه لفيكتوريا. يصارعون مع مشاعر لا تطاق ، يضرون أنفسهم في سن المراهقة.

بعد سنوات ، يأتي هؤلاء الناس للحصول على وشم يخفي الندوب.

تشرح إحدى النساء: "هناك الكثير من التحيزات حول هذا الموضوع. يرى الكثير من الأشخاص أشخاصًا في وضعنا ويعتقدون أننا نبحث فقط عن الاهتمام ، وهذه مشكلة كبيرة ، لأننا حينئذٍ لا نتلقى المساعدة اللازمة ... "

يقول روبرت مولر إن الأسباب التي تجعل الناس يختارون إيذاء أنفسهم معقدة ويمكن أن يكون من الصعب فهمها. ومع ذلك ، يُعتقد عمومًا أن مثل هذا السلوك هو وسيلة للتخلص من الألم العاطفي الشديد والغضب أو إلهاءه ، أو "لاستعادة الشعور بالسيطرة".

تقول زبون نيكولاي إنها تأسف بشدة وتتوب عما فعلته بنفسها: "أريد الحصول على وشم لإخفاء ندباتي ، لأنني أشعر بالخجل الشديد والذنب لما فعلته بنفسي ... مع تقدمي في السن ، ألقي نظرة على ندوبهم بالحرج. حاولت أن أخفيهما بالأساور - لكن كان لا بد من خلع الأساور ، وظلت الندوب على يدي.

تشرح المرأة أن وشمها يرمز إلى النمو والتغيير للأفضل ، وساعدها على مسامحة نفسها ويعمل بمثابة تذكير بأنه على الرغم من كل الألم ، لا يزال بإمكان المرأة تحويل حياتها إلى شيء جميل. بالنسبة للكثيرين ، هذا صحيح ، على سبيل المثال ، يأتي الأشخاص من خلفيات مختلفة إلى نيكولاي - شخص عانى من إدمان المواد ، وظلت آثار الأوقات المظلمة على أيديهم.

يساعد تحويل الندبات إلى أنماط جميلة على الجلد على التخلص من مشاعر الخزي والعجز

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإنه يتيح لك الشعور بالسيطرة على جسمك وحياتك بشكل عام ، وحتى منع إيذاء النفس في حالة تكرار نوبات المرض. يعلق الفنان: "أعتقد أن جزءًا من هذا العلاج هو أيضًا الشعور بالجمال نفسه ، وتجديد الشباب من الداخل والخارج".

رجل الدين الإنجليزي جون واتسون ، الذي نُشر في مطلع القرنين التاسع عشر والقرن التاسع عشر تحت الاسم المستعار إيان ماكلارين ، يُنسب إليه الاقتباس: "كن رحيمًا ، لأن كل رجل يخوض معركة شاقة". عندما نلتقي بشخص ما بنمط على بشرته ، لا يمكننا الحكم ولا نعرف دائمًا أي فصل من الحياة نتحدث عنه. ربما يجب أن نتذكر أن كل وشم يمكن أن يخفي تجارب بشرية قريبة منا جميعًا - اليأس والأمل والألم والفرح والغضب والحب.

اترك تعليق

Does a tattoo help heal psychological trauma?

Contents

How does a tattoo help in trauma therapy? What does a semicolon on a person’s wrist mean? Often a tattoo is much more than just a form of self-expression. We talk about the directions of art therapy associated with drawings on the body.

Tattoos can carry a completely different meaning. Since ancient times, they have been an accessory and a kind of “code” of various social groups, from circus performers to bikers and rock musicians, and for some, this is another way of self-expression. But there are those for whom drawings on the body are a kind of therapy that helps to heal and recover from a traumatic past.

“A person gets a tattoo to tell a story. Neck, finger, ankle, face… We humans have been telling our stories here for centuries,” writes Robert Barkman, professor emeritus at Springfield College.

“Healing procedure”

Permanent tattooing on the skin is an ancient art, and the oldest known person with a tattoo lived over 5000 years ago. Due to the fact that he died in the Alps and ended up in the ice, his mummy is well preserved – including the tattooed lines applied to the skin.

It is difficult to guess their meaning, but, according to one version, it was something like acupuncture – in this way, the Ice Man Yeqi was treated for degeneration of the joints and spine. To date, the tattoo continues to have a healing effect, helping, perhaps, in healing the soul.

Tattoos are very personal.

Most people stuff them to tell their story of pain, triumph, or obstacles they have had to face and overcome in their lives. Tattoos in the form of semicolons, stars and feathers speak of past difficulties, hopes for the future and freedom of choice.

“Beloved by most people, the miniature star signifies truth, spirituality and hope, and in some cases speaks of faith. As we all know, stars radiate light in space, in endless darkness. It seems that they lead their owner along unknown paths. They have everything that people need, and therefore have become such a favorite topic for tattoos, ”said Barkman.

Choosing life

Some tattoos carry much more than meets the eye. A miniature symbol – a semicolon – can speak of a serious situation in a person’s life and the difficulty of the choice he faces. “This punctuation marks a pause, usually between two main sentences,” recalls Barkman. – Such a pause is more significant than the one given by a comma. That is, the author could have decided to finish the sentence, but chose to take a break and then write a sequel. By analogy, a semicolon as a tattoo symbol speaks of a pause in the life of someone who wanted to commit suicide.

Instead of committing suicide, people chose life – and such a tattoo speaks of their choice, that it is always possible to start a new chapter.

You can always believe in change – even when it seems there is simply nowhere to turn. So a small tattoo has become a global symbol of the fact that a person can give himself a pause in life, but not put an end to it. It was this idea that formed the basis of one of the international Internet projects.

With the conviction that suicide is fundamentally unacceptable, the Semicolon Project, created in 2013, contributes to reducing the number of suicides in the world. The project brings people together in an international community and provides them with access to important information and useful resources.

The organizers believe that suicide is preventable and that every person on the planet is collectively responsible for preventing it. The movement aims to bring people together – to inspire each other with energy and faith that we can all overcome the obstacles we face, no matter how big or small. Semicolon tattoos are sometimes also applied in memory of loved ones who committed suicide.

 

“Anchor” – a reminder of the important

In other cases, the very fact of getting a tattoo can mean a new chapter in a person’s personal history. For example, one of the expensive rehabilitation clinics in Chiang Mai (Thailand) recommends that those who have completed a full recovery course get a tattoo – as a symbol and a constant reminder of getting rid of a dangerous addiction. Such an “anchor” helps a person to assign victory over the disease. Constantly being on the body, it reminds of how important it is to stop and hold yourself at a dangerous moment.

 

New Moon Project

Another art therapy project using tattoos helps people literally write a new page on the body after old injuries. Renowned trauma specialist Robert Muller, professor of psychology at the University of York, talks about his student, Victoria, who self-harmed in her youth.

“It seems that I have had problems with mental balance all my life,” she admits. “Even as a child, I often felt sad and hid from people. I remember that such longing and self-hatred rolled over me that it seemed simply necessary to release it somehow.

From the age of 12, Victoria began to harm herself. Self-harm, writes Muller, can take many forms, such as cuts, burns, scratches, or something else. There are quite a few such people. And the majority, growing up and changing their lives and attitudes towards their bodies, would like to close the scars as traces of an unpleasant past.

 

Artist Nikolai Pandelides worked as a tattoo artist for three years. In an interview with The Trauma and Mental Health Report, he shares his experience. People with personal problems increasingly turned to him for help, and Nikolai realized that it was time to do something for them: “So many clients came to me for tattoos to mask scars. I realized that there is a need for this, that there should be a safe space for people to feel comfortable and be able to talk about what happened to them if they wish.”

It was then in May 2018 that the Project New Moon appeared – a non-profit tattoo service for people who have scars from self-harm. Nikolay receives positive feedback from people from all over the world, which indicates the demand for such a project. At first, the artist paid for the expenses out of his own pocket, but now, when more and more people want to come and get help, the project is looking for funding through a crowdfunding platform.

Unfortunately, the topic of self-harm carries a stigma for many. In particular, people perceive such scars with condemnation and treat those who wear them badly. Nikolay has clients with a similar history as Victoria. Struggling with unbearable feelings, they self-damaged in adolescence.

Years later, these people come to get tattoos that hide scars.

One woman explains: “There are a lot of prejudices on this subject. Many people see people in our situation and think that we are just looking for attention, and this is a huge problem, because then we do not receive the necessary help … “

The reasons people choose to self-harm are complex and can be difficult to understand, writes Robert Mueller. However, it is commonly believed that such behavior is a way to release or distract from overwhelming emotional pain and anger, or to “take back a sense of control.”

Nikolai’s client says that she deeply regrets and repents of what she did to herself: “I want to get a tattoo to hide my scars, because I feel deep shame and guilt for what I did to myself … As I get older, I look at their scars with embarrassment. I tried to disguise them with bracelets – but the bracelets had to be removed, and the scars remained on my hands.

The woman explains that her tattoo symbolizes growth and change for the better, helped her forgive herself and serves as a reminder that, despite all the pain, a woman can still turn her life into something beautiful. For many, this is true, for example, people with different backgrounds come to Nikolai – someone suffered from substance addiction, and traces of dark times remained on their hands.

Turning scars into beautiful patterns on the skin helps people get rid of feelings of shame and powerlessness

In addition, it allows you to feel control over your body and life in general, and even prevent self-harm in case of recurrence of attacks of the disease. “I think part of that healing is also to feel equally beautiful, rejuvenated inside and out,” the artist comments.

The English clergyman John Watson, who at the turn of the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries published under the pseudonym Ian MacLaren, is credited with the quote: “Be merciful, for every man fights an uphill battle.” When we meet someone with a pattern on their skin, we cannot judge and do not always know what chapter of life it is talking about. Perhaps we should remember that every tattoo can hide human experiences close to all of us – despair and hope, pain and joy, anger and love.

Leave a Reply